Review: Pop Sonnets by Didriksen

A very enthusiastic 5 stars for Pop Sonnets.

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book from Net Galley.

I wasn’t really sure what I was getting myself into when I sat down to read this book.  Pop music turned into Shakespearian sonnets?  This was either going to be really bad or it was going to be utterly amazing.  And I’m definitely going with the utterly amazing description.  I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this book.

I will have a lot of fun using this book in parties and in gatherings with friends and family.  It will be a blast to read these sonnets and try to have people guess what song it’s talking about.  No genre is safe.  Pop, rock, metal and even rap make an appearance here.  In many cases, the sonnet is SO MUCH BETTER than the original lyric that I wish we could have the artist go back and record it again and use the sonnet in place of their original lyrics.

I think one of the best experiences was being Rick-Rolled.  That was a nice touch!  I laughed and found myself going back and reading many of them again.  This will definitely be a book that comes out on a regular basis.  This will be awesome for trivia nights and get-togethers.  There aren’t many books that I would readily pick up and read again, but this book will definitely go onto that list.  I think I’ll read it again right now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical, Humor

Leave a Reply

